ADA Welcomes 2019 Principal Officers and New Members to National Board of Directors – January 11, 2019

Notable additions include Livongo’s Glen Tullman, Dr. Julio Rosenstock (Director, Dallas Diabetes Research Center), and Dr. Robert Cuddihy (VP, US Medical Affairs, Amgen)

The ADA welcomed its 2019 Principal Officers and Board of Directors yesterday, including the addition of five new at-large board members and four elect officers.

The five new at-large board members are: Glen Tullman (Executive Chairman and Founder of Livongo), Dr. Robert Cuddihy (VP of US Medical Affairs at Amgen), Dr. Julio Rosenstock (Director of the Dallas Diabetes Research Center), Mr. Otis Kirksey (Director of Pharmacy Services for Neighborhood Medical Center), and Dr. Jean O’Connor (Senior public health practitioner at Emory University).

Through Livongo, Mr. Tullman has been a major advocate for convenient, consumer-based care for patients and helped to grow the company to over 100,000 users and >600 clients. Mr. Tullman has now transitioned to Executive Chairman at Livongo, where he will continue to focus on growing the company. Dr. Rosenstock is a true KOL, contributing to both research and thought leadership in diabetes pharmacotherapy and treatment approaches; he’s also an Associate Editor of Diabetes Care and has authored/co-authored over 500 publications. Finally, Dr. Cuddihy, current VP of Medical Affairs at Amgen, brings an extensive academic background to the board, highlighted by his involvement as an investigator on the landmark DCCT-EDIC and ACCORD trials. We’re immensely enthusiastic to see how these new board members, as well as the others, will drive ADA’s mission forward.

Outgoing Principal Officers include Dr. Karen Talmadge, Dr. Felicia Hill-Briggs, Dr. Jane Reusch, and Mr. Michael Ching.

See below for a complete list of the 2019 Board:

New Principal Officers of the Board of Directors

  • David Herrick, MBA (Managing Principal, EthicOne); Chair

  • Gretchen Youssef, MS, RD, CDE (Program Director, MedStar Diabetes Institute); President, Health Care & Education

  • Louis Philipson, MD, PhD, FACP (Director, Kovler Diabetes Center); President, Medicine & Science

  • Brian Bertha, JD, MBA (Senior Advisor, HitLab); Secretary/Treasurer

New At-Large Board Members

  • Glen Tullman (Executive Chairman and Founder, Livongo)

  • Robert Cuddihy, MD (VP of US Medical Affairs, Amgen)

  • Julio Rosenstock, MD (Director, Dallas Diabetes Research Center)

  • Otis Kirksey, PharmD, RPh, CDE, BC-ADM (Director of Pharmacy Services, Neighborhood Medical Center)

  • Jean O’Connor, JD, DrPH, FACHE (Senior public health practitioner, Emory University)

Elect Officers for 2019

  • Umesh Verma (CEO, BLUE LANCE); Chair of the Board-Elect

  • Mary de Groot, PhD (Acting Director, Diabetes Translational Research Center at Indiana University); President-Elect, Health Care & Education

  • Robert H. Eckel, MD (Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado); President-Elect, Medicine & Science

  • Martha Parry Clark, MBA (former Interim CEO, ADA); Secretary/Treasurer-Elect


--by Martin Kurian, Ann Carracher, and Kelly Close